Student Chapter – Society of American Foresters

Our Mission: To provide a structure and organization that fosters a range of opportunities to advance academic achievement, expand experiences, as well as promote career and professional development for University of Maine students interested in forest resources.


Advisor: Anthony Guay

Planning Team:

  • Philip Brown – (philip.brown@maine.edu)
  • Ashley Carter – (ashley.lynn.carter@maine.edu)
  • Reg Clarke – (maeve.clarke@maine.edu)
  • Peter Herrick – (peter.herrick@maine.edu)
  • Tyler Locke – (tyler.locke@maine.edu)
  • Ana Schmidt – (ana.schmidt@maine.edu)
  • Jackson Varley – (jackson.varley@maine.edu)

Past Events & Opportunities:

  • Scholarships to attend National SAF Conventions
  • American Woodcock Habitat Restoration Project
  • Resume Workshops
  • Guest Speakers
  • Career Speed Networking Event
  • Chainsaw Trainings (Beginner & Intermediate)
  • Browntail Moth Seminar

Join UMaine SAF!

To join SAF, visit the national website and complete the sign-up process. The Maine Division of SAF covers the cost of the first year of membership for SFR students–just email your receipt to Tony and you will receive a refund from Maine SAF. As a member, you will be able to become more involved in the industry, network with professionals, and receive scholarships to help you attend national and regional SAF conventions. Join now!