Forest Resources Advisory Committee (FRAC)

Forest Resources Advisory Committee (FRAC)

Purpose – Committee will work with the Director of the School of Forest Resources (SFR), Director of the Center for Research on Sustainable Forests (CRSF), and Dean of the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry and Agriculture (NSFA) to advise them on how SFR, CRSF, and NSFA programs can best serve the forest resources needs of the State of Maine. The Committee is called the Forest Resources Advisory Committee (FRAC).

Responsibilities – The primary responsibility of FRAC will be to provide advice, guidance, and recommendations on priorities and strategic directions for the education, research, and public service programs within SFR, CRSF, and NSFA. This input will address all facets of research, teaching and public service mission of the university on the social, economic, ecological, environmental, and managerial aspects of forest resources in the State. FRAC will provide guidance and assist, where appropriate, on fundraising and advocacy within the university system, government, forest products industry, and other sources to help build and sustain the education, research, and public service capabilities in forest resources at the University of Maine

Membership – FRAC will consist of leaders from the diversity of organizations that are responsible for and/or dependent upon healthy forest resources in the State of Maine.

Jensen Bissell
Baxter State Park

Kyle Burdick
Woodlands Manager
Baskahegan Company

Donna Cassese
Managing Director
Wood Resource Strategy
Sappi North America

Daniel P. Christensen
Hancock Natural Resource Group

Tom Doak
Executive Director
Maine Woodland Owners

Dana Doran
Executive Director
Professional Logging Contractors of Maine

David Edson
James W. Sewall Co.

Kenny Fergusson
Maine Woodlands Forester
Huber Resources Corporation

Alexander R. Ingraham
Executive Vice President
Pingree Associates, Inc.

Don Kleiner
Maine Outdoors

Frederick Morton, Jr.
Executive Vice President
Farm Credit East

Patrick Strauch
Executive Director
Maine Forest Products Council

Christopher Woodall, Ph.D.
Project Leader
Forest Service
Research and Development
Northern Research Station